Self Harm Distractions

I woke up this morning with unexplainable urges to self harm.

I’ve never googled distractions for self harm before because I wasn’t ready to distract myself from self harming.

And I picked out a bunch of suggestions and have secretly been trying them out.

  • Meditation
  • Make a distraction box
  • Squeeze an ice cube
  • Talk to a loved one.
  • Eat your favourite food.
  • Have a hot drink.
  • Do a puzzle.
  • Listen to positive music.

My heart was racing more than normal, due to my anxiety being sky high. So, I took two propranolol and listened to a 10 minute breathing exercise on the App ‘Headspace”.

Instead of squeezing ice cubes, I’ve decided to try putting unopened water bottles in the freezer instead to use.

I’m not always in the mood for drawing, writing or colouring but I have this app on my phone called ‘Word Cookies’ that distracts me and makes me focus on something else for a little while.

Distraction boxes are really useful. I already made one last year and filled it up with notebooks, favourite photos, stress balls, blue tack, favourite DVD, a colouring book with pens and a MP3 player with positive songs on it.

One of the most important things to do when you’re feeling distressed about things is to talk to someone close to you. I’ve spoken to two people today. A very close family member and my best friend. Even though it hasn’t really solved any situations, it’s better to talk out loud to someone instead of keeping it all in.

I treated myself to breakfast this morning, which is actually a good thing because I hardly ever eat breakfast. As soon as I finished, I felt terrible and wanted to throw up straight away. But I didn’t. I’ve been rewarding myself and having a hot chocolate. Not in any way, shape or form did I self harm today and I’m actually really proud of that.

It might be just one day, but it’s a massive step in recovery. ☺️💪🏻💕

5 thoughts on “Self Harm Distractions

  1. One thing I’ve done (and should continue actually) was write down short reminders of memories that made my day brighter at the time. For example, right after I had a baby I would write “The time I held you in my arms for the first time” or “The time I sold a newspaper article”. This helps me have moments of feeling good again.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Deciding you want to get better is a huge first step! I’m so happy for you!!

    If you’re big on accomplishments, I’ve also read one other method for distraction, and tried this myself! Draw a butterfly on places where you would harm yourself whenever you feel the urge, if you hurt yourself, you’d kill that butterfly. Remember a killed butterfly doesn’t mean you’re a failure, only means you’re human! x

    I’ll be praying with you for your recovery 🙂 If I can do it, you can do it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

